Tigers earn fifth-straight AUS championship title

Photo by Carter Hutton
Photo by Carter Hutton

Source: Dominic Nolasco, SMU Communications

(Halifax, N.S.) - The Dalhousie Tigers women's volleyball team swept the Memorial University Sea-Hawks in three sets on Saturday evening, 25-21, 25-18, 25-19 in the 2017 Subway AUS Women's Volleyball Championship game.

Dal's fifth-straight title is the most in a row since UNB rattled off ten from 1960/61-1969/70.

Anna Dunn-Suen (Halifax, N.S.) paced the Tigers and all hitters with 16 kills in the win.

Kierstin Fey (Selkirk, Man.) led the Sea-Hawks with 10 kills while AUS MVP Jill Snow (Bishops Falls, N.L.) paced Memorial with nine kills and added 18 digs and 37 total attacks.

Dalhousie led 4-2 early in the opening set when Memorial used an 8-1 run to take a 10-5 lead. A 4-0 Dal run had the Tigers down one, 10-9 and both teams were tied 13-13 midway thru the set. The Tigers used a 5-0 spurt and took an 18-13 lead before closing out the set 25-21.

The second set saw Memorial leading 5-2 and the Sea-Hawks increased their lead to 9-6 before Dal tied up the set at 11-11. A 6-0 Dal run saw the Tigers up 17-11 and a 5-4 run pushed the lead to 22-15. Both teams split the next points 3-3 and Dal won the second set 25-18.

Both teams had ties of 8-8, 13-13, and 14-14 in the third set before a 4-0 Dal run broke the stall mate open at 18-14. A 3-2 Dal run saw the Tigers in front 21-16 and a 4-3 run saw the Tigers win the set 25-19 and the match 3-0.

Jordan Hutchison (Kentville, N.S.) added six kills for the Sea-Hawks while Sarah Dawe (Mount Pearl, N.L.) had four.

Courtney Baker (Bridgewater, N.S.) had six kills for Dal while Victoria Haworth (Waverley, N.S.) added five.

The Ryerson University Rams are hosting the 2017 U SPORTS Women's Volleyball National Championship presented by Jason Rinaldi, March 17-19, 2017 in Toronto, Ontario.

Subway Players of the Game, DAL (Marisa Mota), (MUN) Kiersten Fey.

Tournament All-star Team:
Saint Mary's – Shelby Charlton
UdeM – Christelle Bertin
Memorial – Maiya Westwood
Memorial – Jill Snow
Dahousie – Courtney Baker
Dalhousie – Marisa Mota

Tournament MVP – Anna Dunn-Suen, Dalhousie