Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Flashback Friday (Nov. 25)

Flashback Friday (Nov. 25)

Today we are flashing back to the year 1996 to check out the accomplishments of the Tigers men’s basketball team! The photo features: Shawn Plancke, Dallas Shannon, Brian Parker, Tim Elliot, Tremayne Howe, Mike Sabol, Dwayne Hopkinson, Blair Pallopson, Tim Maloney, Kannin Osei-Tutu, Darryl Baptiste, Dale Jackson, Ray Fountain. Not pictured in the photo: Tim McGarrigle (head coach), Jim Charters (asst. coach), Mark Parker (asst. coach), Ed Michalik (academic advisor), Gerry Faber (manager), Shawn Hickey (manager), Jason During (manager), Stephanie Francis (trainer).

This was the third consecutive year that Brian Parker was named to the AUS first team all-star list. Parker was also named the team MVP and a CIS second team all Canadian during the 96-97 season.

In his rookie season in 92’, Shawn Plancke won the CIS rookie of the year award. In 96, Plancke was awarded the CIS Ken Shields award (community service award) as well as the AUS student-athlete and community service award. Only one other men’s basketball player has been awarded the Ken Shields award in Tigers history (Andrew Sullivan 09-10).

In his third year with the Tigers, Head coach Tim McGarrigle led this squad to a 13-7 record. McGarrigle went on to coach five more seasons with the Tigers, retiring in 2002 with a coaching record of 79 wins and 81 losses.

Good luck to the 2016-17 Tigers men’s basketball team when they kick off their annual Shoveller Tournament on December 29 against Mount Royal University! Tournament packages and tickets are available at the gate or the Dalplex Customer Service Centre.