Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Flashback Friday (Jan. 11)

Flashback Friday (Jan. 11)

This week’s Flashback Friday features the 2009-10 women’s hockey team.

FRONT ROW (L-R): Alyscia Zaryski, Robin Mullen, Mike Chapman (Asst. Coach), Jocelyn LeBlanc, Sean Fraser (Asst. Coach), Emelie Ederfors, Lesley Jordan (Head Coach), Laura Shearer, Kim Carcary (Strength Coach), Kaitlyn McNutt, Ashley Boutilier

MIDDLE ROW (L-R): Dr. Lori Jones (Academics Coach), Liz Matheson, Rachel Cox, Miranda McMillan, Lyndsey LeBlanc, Monica Neal, Sarah McVey, Emily Brown, Robyn Nicholson, Brook Winch 

BACK ROW (L-R): Miriam Lewis (Trainer), Rebecca Sweet, Cassie Banfield, Tessa Boudreau, Katya Sodamin, Fielding Montgomery, Christina Paterson, Alyssa Hennigar, Travis O’Neal (Trainer)

MISSING: Joe Johnston (Goaltending Coach), Lauren Marsh-Knickle (Mental Skills Coach), Amanda Wintink (Yoga Coach)

In the 2009-10 season the women clinched a playoff spot finishing fifth overall in the regular season standings, but unfortunately lost to St. Francis Xavier and the Saint Mary’s Huskies.

Leading the Tigers was fourth year captain Laura Shearer. A 2008-09 AUS championship all-star, she was instrumental in their five-game winning streak through November and clinching them the playoff spot after finishing fifth in the regular season standings.

Core veterans Jocelyn LeBlanc and Robin Mullen were big players on the forward line, leading the charge in offensive play. Robyn Nicholson returned with her booming shot and physical play to give the Tigers a physical edge in the back and off the rush, but unfortunately missed eight games of the season due to injury. Third-year forward Miranda McMillan had an impressive season and became a go-to player in the Tigers lineup.

Kaitlyn McNutt, Katya Sodamin, Emelie Ederfors, Liz Matheson, LeBlanc, McMillan and Sarah McVey all achieved the academic All-Canadian honours that year.  Laura Shearer earned AUS first team all-star status, while Jocelyn LeBlanc was named to the second team. Fielding Montgomery was named to the AUS all-rookie team.

The coaching staff was lead by head coach Lesley Jordan in her eighth season. Sean Fraser and Mike Chapman were the assistant coaches and Joe Johnston was the goaltender.